Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii Vacation Rental2 bedroom, 2 bath townhome sleeps 4 

Guest Comments | 

Ocean Close Premier Townhome In Beautiful Tropical Gardens

"Stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed the entire stay! Very clean, well decorated townhouse with a wonderful lanai to enjoy every morning. Loved the ceiling and layout of this place! No A/C but that was not a problem if you take advantage of the trade winds. I really appreciated the bench outside the front door and the garden hose to wash off before entering the TH. We used the cooler, beach chairs and umbrella for Poipu Beach just a short distance away-the only beach we snorkeled at and pleasantly surprised. We saw 2 green sea turtles, several monk seals and plenty of colorful fish. Would I stay here again...............of course!" - Cindy S., Holdrege, Nebraska, 11/13/2017 (VRBO Review)

"Owner was nice and responsive. House was beautifully decorated and had many items that you would need there. Like lots of dishes, snorkle sets, body boards, beach towels, card games, etc..... Negatives were: Lots of bugs get inside of the house. Like tons of knats around light bulbs. big black Roaches were inside of the bathrooms and one of them got on my toothbrush. We also had lizards freely climbing on the walls inside. ( owners believed that they are good and bring good luck. Lizards were actually the least annoying insects for us). Also ants were coming inside. And another type of bug in size of small roaches was getting inside of our rooms and sometimes in our clothes. Also house was very hot and humid and there was no AC there. Main ceiling fan in the living room was not working and we had to go and buy a stand by fan that really didn't make any difference. I think house really needs AC in order to be rentable. Also doors and windows need to be properly sealed to minimize bugs entering into the house. With those two changes, it will be definitely a 5 star house." - Amir M., San Diego, 07/10/2017 (VRBO Review)

I am disappointed that your stay at my vacation rental was not to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on providing an optimal experience to our guests. My home is listed on 3 websites and between them enjoys over 75 “5” star ratings and has never received a “3” rating and only a few 4’s. Our condominium association employs a highly regarded service to spray non-toxic compounds inside and outside quarterly to reduce and eliminate the “bugs” you are referring to. I have never had a complaint such as yours about “bugs” from other guests in over 18 years. That said, Hawaii does has many flying insects including cockroaches, swarming gnats and termites which come and go especially in summer. When the screen doors are left open at night with the TV and lights on inside, flying bugs are attracted and will enter the home. There are NOT holes or places where they enter in the house. The screens are all new and the home is in excellent condition. As for the “lizards,” I explained to you that these are “geckos” and here in Hawaii there are a few in every home and every hotel room from time to time. They cannot be avoided. They enter when the screen doors and front doors are open and not through holes in the walls. We do not kill them with poison. Most folks who vacation in Hawaii know this and accept this as part of nature and yes, there is a lot of “good luck” lore around them. Lastly, Hawaii can get very warm and humid in the summertime, especially if the trade winds have slowed or stopped for any period of time. You rented a condo without air conditioning and did not pay for one with air conditioning. You can find a few condos along with the Hyatt, Sheraton and Marriott in the Poipu area which offer A/C. A/C is generally not necessary due to cooling trade-winds, but there can be some weeks we all wish we had it.

"Perfect base of operations to enjoy Kauai. A little warm at night if the breeze slows down but the fans provided picked up the slack. We would definitely stay here again." - Anthony Y., 07/09/2017 (VRBO Review)

"We had an amazing stay on this property. The house is ultra clean and the furnishings and appliances are all well maintained. It's a totally a great place to just hangout and chill in a lazy afternoon and read a good book . Surrounded by trees and lush green shrubbery, It's really just a great place to retreat from the hustle and bustle of city life. Totally enjoyed our stay and John was always prompt returning calls and texts whenever we have questions . Thank you John for being such a gracious host." - James A., 06/04/2017 (VRBO Review)

"We family of four with two kids (3.5yr and 7month) stayed here in early Januar for almost a week. The condo is beautiful decorated with a lot of details. Besides all the kitchenware it has everything you need (baby cot, beach chairs, snorkels etc.). The location is great and John was very responsive via email when we had questions. Poipu Crater is dedicated for a family vacation. We would highly recommend the condo and we love the beautiful island. We will come back." - Florian w., 01/29/2017 (VRBO Review)

"Quiet, secluded and private. Was a very easy place to stay in Poipu. We would recommend for 2 couples to share the more than adequate condo. Easy access to the beach and to some local restaurants. Convenient for getting to the other Kauai sites i.e. Waimea Canyon, Kapaa, Hanalei, Napali, etc. Also easy access to shopping and groceries. Our stay was very enjoyable. Owner, John F. was very attentive and available as needed (luckily not needed but to answer a few questions). The pool water was a bit on the chilly side and it was actually being recharged when we ere there but no worries, we went to the beach! Breakfast on the deck was a pleasure with many birds in the trees seemed more like a jungle retreat. The sun did get a little intense on the deck in late afternoon (perhaps a sun shade would help) but things soon cooled down for early evening and great sunsets. This was our second time to Kauai but first time in this facility and we think we chose a great place to stay." - Thomas B., 01/06/2017 (VRBO Review)

"We recently stayed here in December for 6 nights.The condo has absolutely everything you need, from beach chairs to snorkels. It was clean and accommodated the 5 of us very comfortably. I loved the Hawaiian decor. The kitchen has everything you need and this allowed us to cook meals . I would highly recommend the condo and we loved the island of Kauai ." - Helen A., 12/31/2016 (VRBO Review)

"We had an awesome first time visit to the island of Kauai --- and it started with staying in Poipu Crater #20. There were 4 adults and this condo was spacious enough for all of us. Very clean, personable with artwork from the island --we loved all the pineapple decor! Equipped with full kitchen and washer and dryer--- also a very quiet location so we could relax on the linai after a day full of excursions and siteseeing. Swimming pool was a nice treat too! Definitely will return and we highly recommend this condo!" - Linda A., 10/18/2016 (VRBO Review)

"My sister, her husband, my nephew and my fiancée all had the pleasure of enjoying 5 days at Poipu Crater #20. It's a PERFECT condo for 2 couples as both rooms have large beds, spacious rooms and access to bathroom by each respective room. The condo is VERY CLEAN, equipped with all the amenities of home, and even has a closet full of beach toys (chairs, boards, etc) to use. The kitchen is well equipped and quite updated. The floor plan is spacious with separate dining room, living room and lanai. It was perfect for our 2 families to feel like we were on family vacation, awhile being able to retreat to our own spaces when needed. The location is very convinient to Poipu Town (the beach and shopping). I've been visiting my family in Kauai all my life and will definitely recommend AND return to Poipi Crater #20." - Catherine S., 06/14/2016 (VRBO Review)

"Family of 4, one 13 yr and one 7 yr, really lived the condo itself, very nice and renovated with taste, the resort is also great with its lush garden, pool and bbq area. Fully equipped with beach supplies, conveniently located close to Poipu beach this really is a very highly recommended condo. Enjoy!" - Xavier T., 07/17/2015 (VRBO Review)

"We had a wonderful week in this rental. It has a nice layout, 2 bedrooms with separate baths (showers only, no bathtubs, but you've got the whole ocean near!). Well stocked kitchen, spacious living room and lanai. Unit is clean and well kept. We really appreciated all the water gear (snorkels, boogie boards, sand toys, even foldable seats). You can drive or walk to poipu beach in just a few minutes. Keep in mind though that this unit does NOT have a/c. It has large (quiet) ceiling fans, but it can get hot in there. We'd love to come back!" - Oliver R., 07/07/2015 (VRBO Review)

"The condo unit was very, very clean and we had more than we needed for our home stay and beach adventures. If you are snorkeling, I would recommend the waters by the Beach House Restaurant. Snorkel Bobs is a great place to rent gear and they are just up the road in Koloa. The pool was quiet and often we were the only ones there. Getting around Poipu by car from the crater was easy and everything is in very close proximity. Our favorite restaurants, Keoki's Paradise, The Beach House and Brenneckes Beach Broiler. Highly recommend this unit and area of Kauai." - Don E., Redlands, CA, 05/28/2015 (VRBO Review)

"The condo is secluded and affords privacy. The surroundings are picturesque which creates an atmosphere of ambience. The accommodations were great with all the amenities. We look forward to our next stay. Ken & Carolyn" - Kenny G, Scottsdale, Arizona U.S., 11/23/2014 (VRBO Review)

"WOW - Immaculate condo in a picture perfect setting. Awesome place to stay on the south shore!" - Jeff M., Cleveland, Ohio, 07/02/2014 (VRBO Review)

"I have stayed in the Poipu area for many, many years. The accommodation is one of the nicest in memory. The unit has been beautifully remodeled and every amenity one could imagine has been provided. Gracious living in a beautiful garden spot. I am missing being there already!" - Robert P., 03/23/2014 (VRBO Review)

"We just returned from a fantastic 10 days on Kauai and loved every second of staying in this vacation rental. It was the perfect set-up for our family of 3 children (ages 8, 5 and 2) and our au pair. My husband and I took the master bedroom upstairs, the children stayed in the lower bedroom (well, until they all ended up in our bed sometime in the night!), and our au pair happily took the sofa in the living room. We all felt like we had enough space to enjoy fully. The condo was super clean, and stocked with everything one would need to enjoy cooking meals at home, packing lunches for the beach and day trips, and enjoying relaxing at home on the spacious lanai. The owners have thought of every detail -- from beach gear and coolers to boogie boards and board games -- for guests to enjoy during their stay. The condo is tastefully decorated and would appeal to both guests without children and guests with children. We had no problem putting anything breakable up high immediately upon arrival, and were able to relax throughout the trip without worry that our children would break something or get into an unsafe situation. The location was stellar! Having the possibility to walk to kid-friendly beaches, hotels for date-night drinks, and the small Poipu shopping area was important to us as we prefer to get around without a car (even though we had a car rented). Staying in the crater was a nice balance to all of the sun and wind along the coastline, and making out base in sunny Poipu was an awesome juxtaposition to the rainy days elsewhere on the island. We truly have no complaints about this rental....everything from booking to arrival to the vacation and departure was seamless. Huge thanks to the owners for providing a space to call home for our family vacation! Highly recommended!" - Jodi, Portland, Oregon USA, 03/17/2014 (VRBO Review)

"This unit was immaculate . It had everything needed for a great Kauai stay. Area very nice and close to Brenneke Beach and the Grand Hyatt. Only negative would be no ocean view" - Larry M., 02/08/2014 (VRBO Review)

"Our stay at Poipu Crater was amazing! We were blessed to be able to have Christmas and New Years in Kauai this year. This condo is beautiful! It is wonderfully upgraded and had such a homey feeling. The deck is unbeatable, very big and the view is great!! It is centrally located to the beach, golf courses and lots of shopping nearby. Everyone treated us so nice during our 3 week stay. The swimming pool/clubhouse area is lovely as well. It was never crowded during the time we stayed and the pool was immaculate! We also did a lot of barbequing and the two that were provided were new and very well kept. We would definitely stay at this condo again! Downside: noise carries throughout the condo area due to the crater and having very boisterous laugh's we had to tone it down quite a bit to respect others. We hated to leave but the memories we left with will last us for a lifetime. A huge thank you to John and Ed (who are wonderful to deal with) for letting us stay at your place. We hope to be back soon!" - Shelley V., Wasilla, Alaska, 01/31/2014 (VRBO Review)

"We came here on our honeymoon late May into June. Being from the Bay Area we were a bit stunned with the weather, but soon got over it. The townhouse we stayed in was more than enough room for the 2 of us. We ended up staying in the downstairs bedroom (it was a bit cooler). Everything was so nice in the home. They also had beach gear which was very nice. We used the beach towels and chairs everyday we were there. They even had a cooler which we used to pack a beach lunch one day. The home was close to beaches and shopping centers. Overall our experience was great. We would definately stay here again!" - Jama, San Francisco, CA, 06/14/2013 (VRBO Review)

"Although we stay in the crater every year - this was our first visit to number 20...what a treat! This condo is beautifully furnished - with all the comforts of home...for those who like to cook - the kitchen is well stocked with tools and techniques for getting the job done...brand new bathrooms up and down with walk in showers in both - perfect for hot weather...the setting in the entire crater is like a little piece of heaven - with luscious gardens and a warm and inviting swimming pool for lounging...all in all the whole thing is well worth a holiday visit..." - Harry, North Vancouver, 06/07/2013 (VRBO Review)

"Enjoyed walking to the beach every morning. Conveniently located in Poipu.Well stocked and very comfortable." - LJ, Oregon, 06/06/2013 (VRBO Review)

"This was our second stay at Poipu Crater #20 and it certainly won’t be our last. If I detailed everything we like about this vacation rental and its location it would probably be the longest TA review ever written. Briefly—and that’s hard to do—PC20 is beautiful, comfortable, and well-appointed. The surrounding grounds and greenery exude Hawaiian. And, c’mon, it’s in an extinct volcanic crater on Hawaii’s oldest and most pristine island—the one Captain Cook landed on when he “discovered” the Sandwich Islands. PC20 is easy walking distance from one of the most diverse assemblies of beaches on the whole island—that is, a beach for everything from keke (kiddies) to easy snorkeling to boarding and surfing of all kinds and at all levels. We’re talking surf, sand, sun – and, a green oceanfront park with picnic tables, across the street from some of the best drinks and sandwiches in the area – all within 15-20 minutes’ walk from your door. Piopu is arguably the best place to stay when visiting Kauai. Centrally located at the southern point of the island, it gets less rain (but enough to remind you where you are) and less wind (but enough to keep you cool), and has more open space than other resort areas. You’re at the halfway point of Kauai’s only main highway that takes to you Hanalai on the Northeast and the magnificent Wiamea Canyon on the Northwest. (But the highway doesn’t connect at the top—thus, Poipu is the perfect place to start going either direction.) The condo is just 10 minutes’ drive from horseback riding at CMJ Stables and guided tours of the beautiful Allerton Garden. Read my other reviews for more on the wide selection of nearby restaurants, food, and drink that are just minutes away. We ate out about half the time and the rest of the time we took advantage of PC20’s convenient kitchen and beautiful lanai. If you’re staying a week or more, we suggest you stop at Costco on the way from the airport. Then you’ll only have to shop for fill-ins during your stay. If you’re only staying a few days, there’s a large and well-stocked grocery store in nearby Koloa Town. What are the negatives? They’re few, and most apply to anywhere you stay in Kauai. The whole island has mosquitos and Poipu is no exception, although we saw less this year than last year. Buy your favorite Deet-based repellent and use it often, especially when outside after sundown. Everyone going to Kauai should know that it rains—sometimes more, sometime less, but always some. Buy an inex" - ohenry, Laguna Beach, CA, USA, 01/04/2013 (VRBO Review)

"During our recent stay, we stayed at a couple of VRBO's. By comparison, this unit was exactly as described: very CLEAN, and outfitted with high quality fixtures and linens, etc, making us feel more like welcomed friends than paying tenants. The crater has an atmosphere unto itself - I'd compare it to a botanical garden, with amazing foliage and welcoming birdsongs (but no annoying roosters!) If you stay here, be prepared for a little hike up and down the crater wall if you are walking to the beach, but it is SO worth it. The general location is very central for seeing the sights on the south side of the island. The financial transactions were relatively simple and our damage deposit was returned very quickly. We will definitely book again the next time we visit Kauai. Thank you John! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!" - Ray & Annette, Saskatchewan, 12/27/2012 (VRBO Review)

Thanks for your nice comments and so glad you enjoy our condo and the crater as much as we do! We looking forward to sharing it with you guys again in the future! Much aloha until then!

"This unit is fantastic and exactly as described. This was the ideal set up for our party of three. The unit had everything that we needed for the beach (chairs, cooler, beach towels). We enjoyed breakfast every morning outside on the lanai. Poipu Crater is very quiet and it might be the only area on the island that we didn't see or hear chickens! We would stay here again." - Anonymous, Salt Lake City, UT, 03/16/2012 (VRBO Review)

So glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo! We are fortunate to have some permanent owners who make it a sport to keep the crater free of roosters!....but it's an ongoing challenge. See you next time! Aloha!

"We stayed in this lovely townhouse and it is exactly as described with beautiful furnishings and decor, clean and well maintained, and it exceeded our expectations. We wish to thank John, the owner, who was very helpful, understanding and kind. We definitely will tell our friends and relatives to stay in this unit when they to travel to Kauai. Also, we recommend a trip to Koloa, which is just a few short miles, for good restaurants and shopping. We look forward to returning and staying in this beautiful townhouse again!" - John & Loretta, Lompoc, California, 08/16/2011 (VRBO Review)

"Our stay here was wonderful! I can't think of anything we needed while in the townhome - everything was provided that we required for a wonderful stay - it was peaceful, relaxing, and just what we were expecting, after viewing the listing photos. I would recommend to any friend or relative, knowing this property was clean, well-maintained, and has a very repsonsive owner. Staying in this area, you are a very short walk to the beach, and close to many great restaurants, golfing, hiking and other outdoor activities. we had a wonderful time, and hope to return soon!" - Eileen, Chicago, IL, 10/25/2010 (VRBO Review)

"Thanks so much John for helping make our vacation so wonderful! Poipu Crater is a magical place -- having such a well established gardens, and being in the crater sheltering us from the rest of the noise. The place is very well maintained and it was such a joy to be in a condo with tasteful and interesting furnishings and artwork, a well equipped kitchen and full sized laundry. Also walking to the beach was great and having beach chairs, towels and other equipment made us very comfortable! The absolute BEST part were the two Pokemon board games that we played about a million times. Our son thanks you for that. We will be recommending your place to our friends." - Tamar C., Oakland, CA, 05/11/2010 (VRBO Review)

"We stayed twice at Poipu Crater, both times in this unit, and it is definitely paradise. The complex is unique, quiet and well maintained, a few minutes from the beach, hotels and some great restaurants but a world in itself where you are surrounded by beautiful birds and flowers. Very nice pool, tennis and clubhouse. The unit itself is clean, well-appointed, decorated in the island style and offers all you need for a perfect vacation. The best part for us though is the master bathroom on the second floor (very nice to have the two bedrooms on separate floors in case there is 4 of you). Waking up to the sound of birds and looking at the amazing bougainvillea facing the large window rivals with any 5 star hotels we stayed at. The large lanaii also became our living quarter, using it from dawn til dusk. It simply feels like the home everybody would want to have on Kauii. Thanks for sharing this little piece of heaven with us...We cannot wait to be back!" - Francois Leclair, Montreal, QC, 01/26/2010 (VRBO Review)

"We stayed twice at Poipu Crater, both times in this unit, and it is definitely paradise. The complex is unique, quiet and well maintained, a few minutes from the beach, hotels and some great restaurants but a world in itself where you are surrounded by beautiful birds and flowers. Very nice pool, tennis and clubhouse. The unit itself is clean, well-appointed, decorated in the island style and offers all you need for a perfect vacation. The best part for us though is the master bathroom on the second floor (very nice to have the two bedrooms on separate floors in case there is 4 of you). Waking up to the sound of birds and looking at the amazing bougainvillea facing the large window rivals with any 5 star hotels we stayed at. The large lanaii also became our living quarter, using it from dawn til dusk. It simply feels like the home everybody would want to have on Kauii. Thanks for sharing this little piece of heaven with us...We cannot wait to be back!" - Francois Leclair, Montreal, QC, 01/26/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My family vacations often on Kauai and have stayed at Poipu Crater Resort before because we love the incredible tropical grounds and pool which are so peaceful and quiet. The Birds are amazing. This unit in particular is high up on the crater wall facing West. It gets the later day and evening sun and we loved sitting on the Lanai every night and having wine and dinner-watching the colors of the sunset in the sky. Everything about this condo has been meticuously thought of and it was in great condition. Truly a Hawaiian vacation. Kitchen is set up great if you are preparing some meals. Owners should be commended for creating such a wonderful rental experience. We will come back here again and try and get the same unit." - Anonymous, -, 01/24/2010 (VRBO Review)

"My family vacations often on Kauai and have stayed at Poipu Crater Resort before because we love the incredible tropical grounds and pool which are so peaceful and quiet. The Birds are amazing. This unit in particular is high up on the crater wall facing West. It gets the later day and evening sun and we loved sitting on the Lanai every night and having wine and dinner-watching the colors of the sunset in the sky. Everything about this condo has been meticuously thought of and it was in great condition. Truly a Hawaiian vacation. Kitchen is set up great if you are preparing some meals. Owners should be commended for creating such a wonderful rental experience. We will come back here again and try and get the same unit." - Anonymous, 01/24/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)


Home | Photos | Guest Comments | Map | Rates/Availability | Contact Us

Powered by VRConnection Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved.